Public Works, Railways and Canals, Militia and Defence, Customs, Agriculture, Post Office, Marine and Fisheries, Inland Revenue, Interior, Indian Affairs and Department of Secretary of State, which includes the Department of Public Printing and Stationery. By a Bill which was passed during the Session of 1890, the Geological Survey, which had been a branch of the Department of the Interior, was made a separate Department under a Deputy Head. Provision has been made by legislation for the amalgamation of the Departments of Customs and Inland Revenue, the new Department to be known as that of Trade and Commerce, presided over by a Minister, designated accordingly, while in the place of the present Ministers of Customs and Inland Revenue two Comptrollers will be appointed, who shall vacate their offices on any change of Government, and shall not, necessarily, have seats in the Cabinet. This arrangement, however, has not yet been carried into effect. Each Department is presided over by a Minister, who may be a member of either the Senate or the House of Commons.

64. The Lieutenant-Governors of the several Provinces are Provincial appointed by the Governor General. The forms of the Legis-Legislatures vary in the different Provinces. Quebec, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island each has two Chambers (a Legislative Council and a Legislative Assembly), and a responsible Ministry. In Ontario, Manitoba and British Columbia there is only one Chamber (the Legislative Assembly), and a responsible Ministry. In Prince Edward Island the members of the Council are elected; in Quebec, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick they are appointed for life by the Lieutenant-Governor. In the North-West Territories there is a Legislative Assembly, composed of twenty-two elected members, and three legal experts, appointed by the Governor General. There is not yet a responsible Ministry. The fol-